But Goodbye’s Too Good A Word, So I’ll Just Say Fare Thee Well

Rejector of water when drinking wine, easily moved by the double pour or the priming of stemware, tyrannical defender of the purity of Brunello, jazz hands extraordinaire, lover of naturally made wine, Billy Joel, roadkill, a Texan, and every punts wildest dream, my dear friend Do Bianchi is leaving the west coast for love, and to the man who is largely responsible for the development of my pour, integrity of wine making, and knowledge of Italian wine, I refuse to say goodbye, so I’ll just say fare thee well, and thanks, more than playing “scenes from an Italian restaurant” a thousand times could possibly express.

I met Do Bianchi last year at Jaynes Gastropub, one of my favorite restaurants and possibly the finest in San Diego, California. I had the opportunity to pour wine alongside as well as for Do Bianchi over the past year. I celebrated the verdict of Brunello, poured wine for the renowned Ca Del Bosco creator Marizio Zinella, and drank some of the most beautiful Italian wines including 1997 G. Conterno Barolo and 1990 Produttori Del Barbaresco, with Do Bianchi in the past year. To one of the most dedicated and influential wine blog writers I know, I find it only suiting to write a post devoted to showing my appretiation and gratitude for everything that has become over the past year because of our developing friendship.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “But Goodbye’s Too Good A Word, So I’ll Just Say Fare Thee Well”

  1. Do Bianchi Says:

    In the words of Shakespeare, Drink some wine ere you go: fare you well.

    Benoit, I just can’t tell you how much your words mean to me. It’s been a wonderful experience to work and get to taste with you at Jaynes this year — a very special year for me, indeed.

    I just can’t tell you how much this means to me…

    Carissime amice, vale.

  2. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road: Jaynes bids Jar adieu « Do Bianchi Says:

    [...] Jaynes Gastropub in San Diego — my “habitat” for the last 12 months. Benoit wrote me this beautiful “farewell” post at his excellent blog, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

